Have You Seen His Hat?


I Want My Hat Back

Written & illustrated by John Klassen

Published by Candlewick Press, 2011

ISBN: 978-0-7636-5598-3

Format: Early/easy reader; Print book; 29 cm

40 Pages ~ Ages 4-8

*This was not written to fulfill a requirement for INSC 571.*

Brief Summary

“Bear” has lost his hat and wants it back. On his quest to find his hat, the bear politely asks other animals he comes in contact with if they have seen his hat. Just when the bear thinks all hope is lost, a conversation with a deer makes a light bulb go off.

Review

I initially planned to use this to fulfill the early/easy reader requirement for my children’s lit reading blog. I must admit, the first time I journeyed with “Bear” to find his hat, I unknowingly did not finish reading the book. It was only after I immediately shared it with someone else that I learned what I thought was the end was Klassen’s attempt to remind readers where “Bear” saw his hat. Already not agreeing with the specified intended audience because of the not-so-easy text, I realized this is surely a dark book for little ones. I specifically do not think it is appropriate for preschool children. I do like the illustrations and the type/style of conversational text. As simplistic as they may be, I think Klassen’s illustrations make the reader feel like they are witnessing the conversation between “Bear” and other animals. I like how he uses alternating colors to help readers understand which animal is speaking at the moment. I give I Want My Hat Back 🐻🐻🐻.

Awards

  • New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Book (2011)
  • New York Times Notable Children’s Book (2011)
  • Theodore Seuss Geisel Honor Book (2012)
  • ALA Notable Children’s Book (2012)
  • Publishers Weekly Best Children’s Book (2012)
One thought on “Have You Seen His Hat?

  1. Pingback: The Dark Really Isn’t That Scary | Blog, Don't Judge

Leave a Reply

