👁 ❤️ 🎶

It’s day 4 of blogging about TFotS and you’re probably over it already. Hang in there with me for just one post longer. This might be my favorite post of them all. I love books, but, I LOVE music. Students’ DIR task on Thursdays will be to create a soundtrack for the book they’re reading. (If you love this idea, head over to author David Arnold’s website where he has created a soundtrack inspired by his novels Mosquitoland and Kids of Appetite.)

I’ve thought about this for a couple of days—as I’m sure students will have to—and realized that even with such a huge heart for music and musical background, it’s a challenge to decide which songs appropriately represent this novel. I had to think about context, characters, setting, and emotion. It was no easy feat, but accomplished nonetheless. It made me appreciate the countless number of hours I’m sure music directors put in to choose music and create soundtracks for movies. It’s a job that interested me in the past, but I’m certainly not envious of. Well, maybe just a little.
parental_advisory_label

For everyone’s sake, my DIR: Soundtrack for The Female of the Species is more of an EP than LP. (If I were fancy, I’d upgrade my blog site plan to include audio so you’d just be able to press play. But I’m not that fancy today, so you’ll have to go find it on Apple Music, YouTube, Spotify, Pandora, or whatever streaming service you prefer.)  I’m feeling slightly fancy and hoping it pays off. Just click on the link 👇🏽 to hear the music.

TFotS Soundtrack 🎶 🎙 📻  🎧

I’m awful at spoilers so you’ll have to read The Female of the Species to understand why I choose these songs. Oh yeah, the parental advisory is there for a reason. Happy listening! ✌🏽 ❤️ 🎵

Leave a Reply

