Grown

I swear Tiffany Jackson exists to mind**** readers. I mean seriously! Why must she give me heart palpitations with every👏🏽single👏🏽book👏🏽?

In Grown, 17-year-old aspiring singer Enchanted gets her shot after R&B legend Korey Fields sees her audition for a show. When her parents reluctantly allow her to go on tour with him, Enchanted finds herself caught up what she thinks is love, only to later find out Korey has a dark side. Then Korey ends up dead and Enchanted is the only person in the room when it happens.

I keep thinking Jackson worked on the business side of TV/film in her former career, but I’m not convinced she didn’t write scripts. She’s a freaking genius and I don’t know how she comes up with these stories. Not to mention, there is ALWAYS a plot twist. Five freaking stars for the storytelling! Adults in the world: do better (because this stuff happens in real life) and protect Black girls.

One thought on “Grown

  1. Totally agree! And how crazy is it that she anticipated her readers? As someone who read Allegedly and Monday’s Not Coming, I knew there was going to be a twist. But the whole bait and switch? Chile, there was no anticipating that twist. Masterful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment